Customer Service 101

Being a photographer should be about more than just taking pictures of/ for people. There are so many great photographers near and far, the only thing that truly separates us is our photographic personal style AND HOW WE TREAT PEOPLE !

One of my favorite quotes in the world truly applies to GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE…

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou

Looong before Photography I ran several retail stores for Express and Ann Taylor. I can truly say that these two companies esteemed customer service very highly! I made it a point to train my managers and asossciates  the same way, with the emphasis on GREAT customer service. Without customers (paying and non -paying alike), we would have NO ONE to service. Make it a point to show your utmost appreciation!

It never really hit me that I would use EVERYTHING I LEARNED about retail in this buisiness, until recently.

I truly believe that any circumstance , situation, frustration etc, can be saved…YOU hold that power. I believe that your attitude dictates the flow of your interactions. By NO MEANS am I saying be a “pushover” or “give away” your services because clients complain, BUT I am saying go above and beyond to let your client know that they are valued and appreciated! In this economy, we are privileged  to be selected to capture the clients special moments. I dont know about you but I am very careful about where I spend my hard earned money and even if its just FIVE DOLLARS , I want to be treated well because I could have chosen somewhere else to spend that five dollars. On the other side of the coin , I will also spend my money somewhere a bit more expensive in the competition if the service is better. Again   “… people will NEVER forget how you  made them feel. 

There are many ways to handle difficult situations and there is SEVERAL ways NOT to.

A  GENUINE and caring  attitude of service will take you many places that your talent alone simply CANT get you to or keep you there! ( Please , never forget that. )

– Qiana Nicole

Leave a Reply

